Lost: One Heart

I lost my heart in China; if someone finds it, please send it back to me. The young lady’s name is Yuyu, and I knew I was in trouble the first time I laid eyes on her. With her silken black hair, porcelain complexion, and liquid almond eyes, she was just adorable in every way imaginable. The first time I met her, she greeted me with the warmest of smiles, as if she recognized me from some previous life. She reached out both arms to envelop me in a gentle embrace, laying her head contentedly on my shoulder. From that point forward, we were inseparable; she wouldn’t let go of me once in the entire time we were together. Although we shared not a word of common language, it became quite evident through her gestures that she was enamored of my freshly trimmed beard; she rubbed it endlessly and made faces at me, laughing delightedly all the while. Much too soon it was time to go, and I had to bid my newfound sweetheart goodbye, likely forever. Tony Bennett left his heart in San Francisco; mine was shanghaied in Shanghai.

PS, Yuyu’s mom was a cutie as well!

Leave a Reply

